Pleurothallis diabolica Luer & R. Escobar 1981 SUBGENUS Pleurothallis SECTION Macrophyllae-Fasciculatae Lindl 1859

Photo courtesy of Patricia Harding >

TYPE Drawing

TYPE Drawing by Carl Luer

Full ShadeHot Warm Fall

Common Name The Devilish Pleurothallis

Flower Size .4" [1 cm]

Found in Antioquia department of Colombia on the western Cordillera and in Esmeraldas province of northwestern Ecuador in primary forests at elevations of 300 to 850 meters as a small sized, hot to warm growing, caespitose epiphyte with slender, erect ramicauls enveloped basally by 2 to 3 close, tubular sheaths and another below the middle and carrying a single, apical, deflexed, rigid, coriaceous, narrowly ovate, acute, basally sessile, deeply cordate leaf that is sometimes conduplicate basally and curved upward above the middle that blooms in the fall on a fascile, arising from the base of the leaf through an erect, conduplicate spathe, of successive single flowered inflorescence with a shorter than the pedicel floral bract.

Part of the Pleurothallis cardiostola/Pleurothallis lilijae complex, Distinguished from others by the lip with acute basal angles that are erect like a pair of horns.

Synonyms Acronia diabolica (Luer & R. Escobar) Luer 2005; Pleurothallis exserta Luer & Hirtz 1988; Zosterophyllanthos diabolicus ( Luer & R.Escobar ) Szlach. & Marg. 2002

References W3 Tropicos, Kew Monocot list , IPNI ;

* Selbyana 1: 238 Luer 1975 drawing fide;

Icones Pleurothallidinarum Systematics of Pleurothallis Vol 3 Luer 1986;

Native Colombian Orchids Vol 3 COS 1991 photo fide;

Icones Pleurothallidinarum Vol XXVII Systematics of Dryadella Systematics of Macrophyllae-Fasciculatae Luer 2005 as Acronia diabolica drawing fide;

Orquideas de la Serrania del Baudo Misas Urreta 2006 drawing/photo fide;

Harvard Papers in Botany Vol. 27, No. 2 New species of Pleurothallis (Orchidaceae: Pleurothallidinae), a new country record, AND labellar morphology in the P. cardiostola-P. lilijae complex of subsection Macrophyllae-Fasciculatae Mark Wilson, Bruno Larsen, Juan Sebastián Moreno, Raven Ward, Joost A. G. Riksen,Luis Piña, Mario A. Sierra-Ariza, Marco M. Jiménez, Milton Rincón-Gonzalez, Robinson Galindo-Tarazona, Henry Garzón Suárez, and David Haelterman 2022